Rita Files Nomination

Governing BJD candidate Rita Sahu today filed her nomination for the by-elections to Bijepur Assembly Seat.

Ms.Sahu submitted the papers at the Sub-Collector's office in Padmapur, Bargarh district.

BJD Veteran Ananga Udaya Singh Deo, Vice President Debi Prasad Mishra, Prasanna Achrya and Ministers, including Prafulla Mallick, Susanta Singh, Niranjan Pujari and Snehangini Chhuria accompanied her.

Election Commission of India (ECI) announced by-poll following the untimely demise  of Subal Sahu, three-time Congress Lawmaker from the seat, in August, 2017.

Rita, wife of Subal Sahu, joined the Governing BJD in September, 2017.

"BJD President and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik will campaign at Bijepur for a day," said BJD Rajya Sabha MP Prasanna Acharya.

Supporters and workers of BJD from all the three blocks and Barpali NAC accompanied Ms.Sahu in a precession to file nomination papers..

Later she said. “All false propaganda of BJP will fizzle out since people of the State and the entire country have already realized the reality of this party and this has been proved from Rajasthan polls where BJP witnessed defeats.”

BJD, BJP apart, one independent candidate and three candidates from API, RPI (A) and PBI have also filed nomination papers, Returning Officer Tapiram Majhi informed.

However the much awaited by-poll will see a triangular contest between the BJD, the BJP and the Congress.
BJP nominee from the seat and former MLA Ashok Panigrahi filed his nomination from the seat on 2 February.

Congress candidate Pranaya Sahu is scheduled to submit his papers tomorrow, the last day for filing of nominations from the seat.


eXTReMe Tracker
Powered by Catalyst IT Solutions Pvt. Ltd.